Game Frequently Asked Questions
Submit your questions on the 2019 Game Q&A forum. We will compile the answers on this page as we receive them.
Q: When and where will the drawings be posted for the playing field and pollutants?
A: Drawings and specs for the PLAYING FIELD and game pieces are on the same FIRST Global Control Hub page as the 2019 FIRST Global Challenge: Ocean Opportunities Game Manual. A 3D SOLIDWORKS eDrawings playing field is also available. Using eDrawings, teams can measure, zoom, and explore the 2019 FIRST Global Challenge playing field.
Q: Parts of the field look different in the video compared to the drawings. Which is correct?
A: The drawings take precedence over the video.
Q: Is it possible to purchase additional pollutants from REV Robotics, for the purpose of testing and practicing?
A: Both sizes of POLLUTANTS can be purchased on the REV Robotics website.
Q: Where can I find the CAD files for the Kit of Parts?
Q: Can we buy a playing field from REV Robotics? We can’t get 1-inch extrusions where we live.
A: REV Robotics does not sell PLAYING FIELDS or PLAYING FIELD components. For PLAYING FIELD construction you can use locally sourced materials, even if the materials don’t match the exact dimensions themselves. What is important is that you adhere to the dimensions for the actual height of the goals.
Q: What can we use vision recognition hardware and software for?
A: The vision tracking technology is provided as a way to help teams line up to the PROCESSING BARGE for scoring or other purposes. Like all of the other sensors provided in the Kit of Parts, it is up to the team to decide how they use them. While there is not a specific bonus for doing so, utilizing technology is something that you can talk to the judges about, which could impact other non-competition awards. DOCKING can be done by either DRIVER or auto control, whichever the team chooses.
Q: Can we use the plastic storage bin as part of our robot?
A: You are not allowed to use the plastic storage bin as part of the ROBOT. ROBOTS must be constructed from only the quantity and type of components included in the 2019 FIRST Global Kit of Parts. Please review R02, R03, and R04 in the game manual.
Q: Will we have access to an inspection checklist?
A: Yes, teams will be given an inspection checklist in October.
Playing Field Objects and Game Pieces
Q: Can a HUMAN PLAYER load more than one POLLUTANT in a ROBOT?
A: There is no limit to the number of POLLUTANTS a HUMAN PLAYER can load into a ROBOT, however POLLUTANTS must be loaded by the HUMAN PLAYER one at a time. Each HUMAN PLAYER can hold and handle one POLLUTANT at a time, resulting in a maximum of three (3) possible POLLUTANTS held by an ALLIANCE’S HUMAN PLAYERS. Therefore, each ALLIANCE can only have three (3) POLLUTANTS out of the OCEAN at a time. Keep in mind that any POLLUTANTS held by HUMAN PLAYERS at the end of the MATCH are considered to be in the OCEAN.
Q: How are pollutants arranged in the bins and dumped onto the field?
A: The POLLUTANTS are dropped onto the PLAYING FIELD by an automatic triggered process at the start of the MATCH. The intent is for the POLLUTANTS to spread across the PLAYING FIELD in a random fashion, thus there is no specific loading pattern.
Q: Is there a limit to the number of POLLUTANTS a ROBOT can manipulate?
A: There is no limit to the number of POLLUTANTS a ROBOT can manipulate after the match starts.
Q: Is there a penalty if one alliance’s pollutant goes over to the other alliance’s scoring zone?
A: POLLUTANTS are not considered to be “owned” by one ALLIANCE or the other while they are freely moving on the PLAYING FIELD. Thus, there is no penalty associated with POLLUTANTS freely going into the opposing ALLIANCE’S scoring area.
Reduction Processing Hub
Q: Will the POLLUTANTS that have been removed from the REDUCTION PROCESSING HUB still earn the 1 point?
A: Per section 2.2.2, “Each POLLUTANT in the REDUCTION PROCESSING HUB at the end of the MATCH is worth one (1) point.” POLLUTANTS only earn REDUCTION PROCESSING HUB points if they are in the designated area at the end of the match. POLLUTANTS that enter the area then are removed before the match ends do not earn points.
Q: Does the top goal have a net?
A: Yes, the REUSE (top) level of the PROCESSING BARGE has a net as the base.
Q: If our robot elevates and helps another robot to elevate too, will both robots get the elevated dock collector points?
A: ELEVATED DOCKING points will be awarded to ROBOTS that are completely supported by either the DOCKING bar or a fully elevated ALLIANCE ROBOT.
Q: Are there any time restrictions on when a robot decides to dock? Can a robot hang at any time during the match?
A: There is no time restriction for when ROBOTS can begin DOCKING. The only requirement is that they remain in that state for at least five (5) seconds following the end of the MATCH.
Q: If a pollutant is inside of a robot at the end of a match and that robot is still in the ocean, does that count as cleared for coopertition?
A: If a POLLUTANT is inside of the ROBOT at the end of the MATCH and the POLLUTANT is not in contact with the OCEAN, it is considered cleared for the Coopertition Bonus.
Q: How many ranking points will be awarded if a team loses?
A: If a team loses the MATCH, they will receive zero (0) ranking points. This does not take into account the Coopertition Bonus, which would be awarded to both ALLIANCES regardless of MATCH outcome.